How to Stop Receiving Shared Files on Google Drive

Do you want to stop receiving shared folders on Google Drive? If yes, you have landed on the right page to check how to stop receiving the shared folder on Google Drive.

The Google Drive spam folder is a new addition to the cloud storage where the user will move unwanted files in the spam. Let’s get started without delay.

How to Stop Receiving Shared Files on Google Drive

Google Drive is the best cloud storage service without any doubt. It provides dozens of features that make a simple backup, sync, and online file-storing process.

Moreover, a file-sharing feature of the Drive is robust, and also easy to share files and folders with other people.

How to Stop Receiving Shared Files
Stop Receiving Shared Files on Google Drive

Apart from the advantages of Drive, it has some drawbacks as well. The receiver doesn’t get any control over the files someone can share with them.

If anybody has a Gmail address, can share the files without your permission. The user has raised a query for a long time but Google doesn’t fix yet.

So, does that mean you can do nothing about it? Well, that’s not true. Google Drive has introduced a few features that enable you to block the person who shares spam or unwanted files with you, and you can delete files manually.

Read How to Count Files in Google Drive Folder

Blocking someone on Google Drive will do these things

  • All the items used by the blocked user will not be viewable or editable for you. Everything that the user shared with you will disappear from your Google Drive.
  • Files and folders that you own cannot be shared with the blocked users. If you have shared some files or folders with them before, those files and folders will automatically get deleted from that user’s drive.
  • You cannot block the user within the domain from a work or school account.
  • If you block the user in Google Drive, it will also block them on other Google applications namely Gmail, Google Maps, and much more.

As you can see, even though there is a way to stop receiving shared files on Google Drive, it comes with many conditions.

However, if you still want to stop receiving files from a particular person, blocking them is the only way. Here is how you can block someone on Google Drive.

Read How to Print an Entire Folder in Google Drive

Steps to Block a Google Drive User

The blocking process in Google Drive is simple and easy. Follow the below simple steps to do so.

  • Go to drive.google.com.
  • Click on the Shared with Me option from the left sidebar.
Stop Receiving Shared Files on Google Drive
  • You have to find the file that the user has shared with you and right-click on it.
  • From the drop-down menu, click on the Block xyz@gmail.com (It will be that person’s email account).
How to Stop Receiving Shared Files on Google Drive
  • A confirmation box will appear, asking you if you surely want to block that person. Simply click on the Block button to confirm it.

That’s it. This is how you can easily block someone on Google Drive. Once blocked, that Google Drive user will not be able to share any type of files with you.

Read How to Remove Google Drive Sharing Link

Steps to block a Google Drive user on a mobile device

You don’t always need to go to the Google Drive website to block a user. If you have a smartphone and Google Drive installed, you can block any person directly from your smartphone. All you have to do is follow these simple steps.

  • Launch the Google Drive application on your smartphone.
  • Now, tap on the Shared tab.
  • Locate the file shared by the user you want to block and tap on the three-dot icon.
  • It will show you a bunch of options. Tap on the block xyz@gmail.com option.
  • A pop-up will appear to confirm your choice. You have to tap on the Block option to block this person.

That’s it. You have now successfully blocked that user on Google Drive.

Why is this an issue?

While these shared files don’t consume your Google Drive storage, they shouldn’t be an issue most of the time. However, there are a few scenarios where it can be a huge problem, especially the spam one.

If someone has your email address, they can destroy your Shared with me folder with files you don’t want. Since you don’t have any control, you can do nothing.

Read How to Print a Locked PDF in Google Drive

Is it possible to fix it?

Yes, it can be fixed, and the most frustrating thing about this problem is that it can be fixed very easily. All Google Drive needs to do is introduce an acceptance function with a self-removal option. This function will let the Google Drive user decide whether they want to be a part of this file or folder or want to remove themselves.

It sounds a bit complicated, but other cloud storage platforms such as Dropbox already offer such functionalities. Every time someone shares a file with you in Dropbox, it will not be visible on your shared folder until you accept it.

Conclusion

This is a detailed tutorial on how to stop receiving shared folders on Google Drive.

Google Drive is a great cloud storage service but with some drawbacks. I didn’t face any issues with spam on Google Drive, but I know people who have had their Shared with me folder suffer with spam files by other users. The problem is that once it starts, there is no end to it.

Although Google Drive has introduced a few features, such as blocking a person, deleting files from the Shared with me folder, and more, they are not as efficient as they should be. It takes quite a lot of time to perform these actions. We hope that Google Drive will look into the matter and offer a better solution for it.

You may like the following Google Drive articles: