How to Block Someone on Google Drive

Have you struggled with the scammers in Google Drive? Then follow this tutorial to be aware of scammers by blocking users in Google Drive. Unknown users or let’s say scammers are always thinking of new ways to contact you through spam.

Google Drive is a nice feature where files and folders can be shared with other users of the service. But unfortunately because of this feature unwanted users will misuse the Drive. Scammers can send unnecessary files which will create danger to Google Drive.

Because sharing files is so simple, it’s easy to lose track of who you’ve shared documents with and how much access they have. As a result, if somebody has turned sour since you shared stuff with them in Google Drive, it’s better to remove them.

What happens when someone is added to your Google Drive Block List?

You can quickly block unwanted files and folders from accessing Google Drive by using its basic blocking tool.

With the blocking option, you can steer clear of accidentally landing in a previously shared file or folder. On Google Drive, you have three choices for blocking someone:

Do not share files with that person in the future

If someone is constantly sending you spam or is otherwise abusive, blocking them from sharing files with you can be quite helpful.

Apart from that, you cannot send files to someone in Google Drive who has been blocked until you unlock them. In this manner, you can be confident that the file you inadvertently sent to that individual won’t be delivered.

Eliminate all previously shared files from the server

You will never be able to access any files or documents that someone has previously shared with you on Google Drive if you block them.

Moreover, this method makes it simple to get rid of spam and other undesirable content. You won’t have to handle each one separately.

Block unauthorized access to your data

In Google Drive, you can also prevent someone from accessing any shared files that you had previously shared. Consequently, you can feel secure in the knowledge that any private information or intimate material you share will be protected.

Read How to Save an Email to Google Drive

How to Block Someone on Google Drive on Android

There are different methods and steps to block someone from Google Drive on different devices. Find below the steps for each type and device.

Disable the file-sharing program

  • Log in to your Gmail account.
  • Open a Drive sharing email.
  • Tap Block the sender at the email’s end.
  • Now, you may be asked to select an account at the top of the Gmail window.
  • Click Block on the window that appears.

Owner of the file should be blocked from accessing the file

  • Open the Drive application on your smartphone or tablet.
  • Click on Menu in the file’s upper-right corner.
  • Look for Email Blocking in the menu and click on it.
  • Tap on Block to close the window when you’re finished.

Unblock a Person’s account

  • Open the Drive application on your smartphone or tablet.
  • Tap your profile image in the upper-right corner of the screen, and then select Manage your Google Account from the menu that appears.
  • Blocked may be accessed by tapping People & sharing and then People & sharing.
  • A list of prohibited Google accounts appears.
  • Select Remove from the drop-down menu next to the person’s name.

Read How to Save Word Docs to Google Drive

How to Block Someone on Google Drive on a PC

To block the file sharer

  • Go to mail.google.com to get started.
  • Create a Drive sharing email and share the drive with others.
  • Click Block the sender at the email’s footer.
  • To create a block on a specific account, open a new tab and pick it.
  • Click Block on the window that appears.

Owner of the file should be blocked 

  • Visit Google Drive at drive.google.com.
  • To do a right-click, select a file from your computer’s hard drive.
  • Select Block ’email’ from the drop-down option.
Block on Google Drive
How to Block Someone on Google Drive
  • Click Block on the window that appears.

Unblock a Person’s account

  • Visit Google Drive at drive.google.com.
  • Click on your profile image in the upper-right corner of the screen, and then select Manage your Google Account from the menu that appears.
People & Sharing
Block Someone on Google Drive
  • Select Blocked from the People & Sharing drop-down menu.
  • A list of prohibited Google accounts appears.
  • Select Remove from the drop-down menu next to the person’s name.

Read How to Turn on Link Sharing on Google Drive

How to Block Someone on Google Drive on iPhone & iPad

Block the file sharer

  • Log in to your Gmail account.
  • Create a Drive sharing email and share the drive with others.
  • Tap Block the sender at the email’s footer.
  • You may be asked to select an account at the top of the Gmail window.
  • Click Block on the window that appears.

Owner of the file should be blocked 

  • Firstly open the Drive application on your smartphone or tablet.
  • Tap Menu More in the file’s upper-right corner.
  • Click on Email Blocking in the menu.
  • Now, choose Block to close the window when you’re finished.

Unblock a Person’s Account

  • Open the Google Drive application on your smartphone or tablet.
  • Click on your profile image in the upper-right corner of the screen, and then select Manage your Google Account from the menu that appears.
  • Blocked may be accessed by tapping People & sharing and then People & sharing.
  • A list of prohibited Google accounts appears.
  • Select Remove from the drop-down menu next to the person’s name.

You can access and manage your blocked list more quickly if you use this method. You may view the people you’ve blocked across Google Apps by visiting your blocked list in your Google account. Click Remove if you want to unblock someone and then you will be able to share files with them.

By being able to ban a user on Google Drive, you can avoid receiving spam, viruses, or other disruptive content.

Also, by blocking access to some Google products, blocked users will be unable to reach you. Furthermore, you’ll be able to live a life free of spam, swindles, and other unpleasantries.

Conclusion

Sharing files and documents via Google Drive is generally easy, but not always. Now, you can easily block someone who’s bothering you by clicking on a button to prevent them from sharing or editing files you’ve given them. Additionally, it can prevent any more accidents.

Sharing files via Google Drive is not a new concept. This is great news for us because a basic Google Drive shared folder opens up so many collaborative ideas across multiple disciplines.

Google Drive is an essential tool for remote workers, whether they are working from home or somewhere else. It is beneficial, especially in these times when everything is going digital. Furthermore, it gives you a variety of options to edit, share, etc that makes work from home more cohesive and collaborative. 

You may like the following Google Drive articles: